Bob Dylan has announced the 16th volume of his long-running Bootleg Series. The new installment, called Springtime in New York, focuses on Dylan’s work from 1980 to 1985. The collection will feature unreleased outtakes, alternate takes, rehearsal recordings, and live performances, as well as detailed liner notes, previously unseen photographs, and more. Springtime in New York is out September 17. Watch the Vol. 16 trailer, as well as information on Third Man’s Vault edition of the collection, below.

Notably, Springtime in New York will focus on ephemera and unreleased music from the sessions for 1981’s Shot of Love, 1983’s Infidels, and 1985’s Empire Burlesque. Dylan truly began the ’80s with Saved, the second album in his infamous Christian trilogy. He previously cataloged his Christian era, however, with 2017’s Bootleg entry Trouble No More.

Read Pitchfork’s review of Bob Dylan’s new livestream special, “Bob Dylan Recasts His Old Selves in Ghostly Concert Film Shadow Kingdom.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Bob Dylan: Springtime in New York: The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (1980-1985)

$45 at Amazon



Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by Beatsway.
Publisher: Matthew Strauss