The Recording Academy has announced its 2021 Special Merit Awards. Receiving Lifetime Achievement Awards are: Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five, the late jazz musician Lionel Hampton, opera singer Marilyn Horne, Salt-N-Pepa, Selena, and Talking Heads. In addition, Ed Cherney, Benny Golson, and Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds will receive Trustees Awards, while Daniel Weiss is recognized as the Technical Grammy Award recipient.

At the 2020 Grammys, Bonnie Raitt performed “Angel From Montgomery” to celebrate John Prine’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Read Pitchfork’s feature interview “David Byrne on the Music That Made Him,” plus check out the Sunday Review of Salt-N-Pepa’s Very Necessary.


Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by Beatsway.
Publisher: Matthew Strauss